• KOKOS New Zealand English ver
  • KOKOS 뉴질랜드
  • KOKOS New Zealand Chinese

The University Of Wollongong

The University Of Wollongong

The University of Wollongong is a public university located in the coastal city of Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia, approximately 80 kilometres south of Sydney. The University of Wollongong traces its origins to 1951 when a Division of the then New South Wales University of Technology was established in Wollongong, and ten years later the Division became the Wollongong College of the University of New South Wales. In 1975, the University of Wollongong was incorporated by the New South Wales Parliament as an independent institution of higher learning.

In over 50 years, the University has grown from a provincial feeder college with 300 students to an international university with over 26,000 students spread across three campuses and five access centres. Originally established as a provider of technical education for engineers and metallurgists required for the region’s steel industry, the University now offers a wide range of courses across nine faculties – Arts, Education, Health & Behavioural Sciences, Engineering, Law, Science, Informatics, Commerce and Creative Arts. These faculties incorporate 40 teaching units with some 865 members of academic staff and over 1,700 staff overall.

University of Wollogong was placed in the top two per cent of universities in the world by its performance in the QS World University Rankings 2011 and Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2011.

The University has also had a strong research focus and has developed an international reputation for its applied research (often in partnership with industry or government) in areas relevant to national economic, technological and social goals. It is home to eight Research Institutes and three ARC Key Centres for Teaching and Research – in Smart Foods, Bulk Solids and Particulate Technologies and Asia Pacific Social Transformation Studies. In addition, the University is a partner with four Co-operative Research Centres (CRC) – in Intelligent Manufacturing Systems, Railway & Engineering Technologies, Welded Structures and Smart Internet Technology.

New South Wales (NSW)